Follow AAE on:

Subscribe to RSS Feed:

For Immediate Release
March 23, 2007
Contact: Heather Reams
Director of Communications
Bailey Teams with Fellow National Teachers of the Year
to Mentor Top Education Students
(Alexandria, VA) — The Teachers of Promise Institute, an annual program that pairs students from colleges of education across Virginia with seasoned educators who will serve as mentors as the students transition into their first year of teaching, was held March 16 and 17 at James Madison University in Harrisonburg, VA.

The event provides students with an opportunity to meet award-winning teachers, attend workshops on teaching strategies and navigating difficult first years, as well as connect with a mentor who will be at their side through the weekend but also be available for assistance and guidance as the students graduate and take their places at the head of the classroom. It is sponsored by the Virginia Department of Education, the Virginia Milken Educator Network and the James Madison Center.

“It is a privilege to be able to participate in such a worthy event,” said Tracey Bailey, 1993 National Teacher of the Year and a mentor at this year’s Teachers of Promise program. “I am glad to help these students reach their potential in any way I can.”

Bailey serves as Director of Education Policy of the Association of American Educators (AAE), a professional teachers’ association, as well as the state director of Virginia Professional Educators, the state affiliate of AAE. He taught for seven years in Florida, eventually being selected as 1993 National Teacher of the Year.

“Teachers of Promise is a great way for young teachers to get the support they need from award-winning veteran teachers, who have years of experience to share,” said Bailey. “These mentors provide valuable coaching and support to first year teachers as they begin their journey towards becoming excellent teachers themselves.”

Students in the Teachers of Promise program are selected by their university on a competitive basis and represent the commonwealth's most promising and gifted pre-service educators. These participants exhibit a strong commitment to their profession and exemplify the traits necessary for a truly exemplary career in public education.

Recent presenters have included 1985 National Teacher of the Year Terry Dozier, 2003 National Teacher of the Year Betsy Rogers, and 2007 National Teacher of the Year Kimberly Oliver, in addition to many other talented educators. The Teachers of Promise program was designed largely by 1998 National Teacher of the Year Philip Bigler, while working closely with the Virginia Milken Educators Network.

The Association of American Educators is the largest national, non-union, professional educators’ association. AAE seeks to increase the respect and professionalism of teachers, to improve public education through increased accountability and higher student achievement, and to provide educators with a professional alternative to teacher labor unions. AAE believes that teacher labor unions no longer meet the needs of today’s educators.