Follow AAE on:

Press Release



April 21, 2016
Contact: Alexandra Freeze

Association of American Educators Foundation Announces Spring 2016 National Teacher Scholarship & Classroom Grant Winners

Alexandria, VA – The Association of American Educators Foundation (AAEF) today announced its National Scholarships and Grants award winners for the spring of 2016, with 15 teachers each receiving funding for varied educational projects and pursuits.

AAEF is committed to offering individual educators various avenues for improving their effectiveness and student outcomes. The teacher scholarships provide teachers with funding to pursue additional teacher trainings, attend workshops, or specialized conferences. The classroom grants are offered to educators to supplement the costs of student-focused projects or activities. Both awards are available to all educators, regardless of AAE membership status.

"The AAE Foundation is proud to support these dedicated educators," said AAEF Chairman Gary Beckner. "AAE scholarships and grants are a worthy investment in empowering teachers and students across the country!"

The Association of American Educators Foundation is a non-profit charitable foundation that provides the public and public school teachers with educational information to help reform and improve the education of America's youth. The AAE Foundation's National Scholarships and Grants competition is held twice a year in the fall and spring and is not limited to AAE members. The deadline for the upcoming fall competition is October 1.

The spring 2016 winners are as follows:

Teacher Scholarship recipients:

Julie Adamic – Pleasant Grove, Utah

Brittany Frank – Antioch, California

Susan Goers – Ogden, Utah

Telana Hicks – Kennesaw, Georgia

LaDonna Leazer – Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Jignasha Patel – Somerset, New Jersey

Jenny Potter – Kansas City, Missouri

Tama Trotti – Decatur, GA

Classroom Grant Recipients:

Lisa Biber – Brodhead, Wisconsin

James Kelly – Plainfield, New Jersey

Timothy Mankiewicz – Milwaukee, Wisconsin

SarahAnne Nadler – LaPuente, California

Rebecca Reher – Atlanta, Georgia

MaryAnne Settlemyre – Centreville, Virginia

Allyson White – Farmington, Utah

The Association of American Educators (AAE) is the largest national, non-union, professional educator's organization, advancing the profession by offering a modern approach to teacher representation and educational advocacy, as well as promoting professionalism, collaboration and excellence without a partisan agenda. AAE members are forward-thinking professionals who are committed to student-centered reform efforts including school/teacher choice, accountability and technology. AAE has members in all 50 states and welcomes professionals from all education entities. Membership is $16.50 per month which includes $2 million professional liability insurance, employment rights coverage, professional development resources as well as a host of other benefits. Visit for further information.