Follow AAE on:

Press Release



June 9, 2011
Contact: Alexandra Schroeck

Association of American Educators Foundation Announces Spring 2011 National Teacher Scholarship & Classroom Grant Winners

Alexandria, VA - The Association of American Educators Foundation (AAEF) today announced its national teacher scholarship and classroom grant award winners for spring 2011, with 14 teachers each receiving up to $500 for various pursuits in education.

AAEF is committed to offering individual educators various avenues for improving student outcomes and developing in their careers. The teacher scholarships provide teachers with funding to further themselves professionally by attending and completing professional development conferences, graduate courses, or pursuing National Board Certification. The classroom grants are offered to educators as a way to provide students with supplies and/or activities which enrich their learning experience.

“AAEF applauds the entire pool of educators who applied this spring. We continue to be amazed by the dedication of our country’s teachers,” said AAEF Chairman Gary Beckner. “These scholarships and grants are a worthy investment in empowering teachers to impact students in more innovative ways.”

The Association of American Educators Foundation is a non-profit charitable foundation that provides the public and public school teachers with educational information to help reform and improve the education of America’s youth. The national scholarship and grant competition is held twice a year in the fall and spring and is not limited to AAE members. The deadlines are - March 1 and October 1.

For more information about AAEF or the Association of American Educators, visit The spring 2011 scholarship and grant winners are as follows:

Teacher Scholarship recipients:


Classroom Grant recipients:


Kayla Bleach—Utah

Linda Barr— California

Joshua Clearman— Florida

Ayse Durmus— Utah

Julia Gumminger— Maryland

Mojah Hamner— Oklahoma

Kimberly Harvey— Alabama

Gerald Harry— Arizona

Tamara Hill— Utah

Stephanie Proud— Utah

DeLaina Tonks— Utah
Randal Wilke— Utah

Irene Sakkas— Washington, D.C.
DeLaina Tonks– Utah