Follow AAE on:

Press Release



January 2, 2017
Contact: Alexandra Freeze

Association of American Educators Foundation Announces Fall 2016 National Teacher Scholarship & Classroom Grant Winners

Alexandria, VA – Today, the Association of American Educators Foundation (AAEF) announced its National Scholarships and Grants award winners for the fall of 2016, with 15 teachers each receiving funding for creative and innovative educational projects and pursuits.

AAEF is committed to offering individual educators various avenues for improving their effectiveness and student outcomes. The teacher scholarships enable educators to pursue additional teacher trainings, attend workshops, or go to specialized conferences. The classroom grants help educators supplement the costs of student-focused projects and activities. Both awards are available to all educators, nationwide, regardless of membership status.

"We're inspired by the fresh ideas proposed in these applications," said AAEF Chairman Gary Beckner. "These scholarships and grants are a worthy investment in our nation’s teachers. We’re proud to support each and every one of them."

The Association of American Educators Foundation is a non-profit charitable foundation committed to advancing the teaching profession. The AAEF's National Scholarships and Grants competition is held twice a year in the fall and spring and the deadline for the upcoming spring competition is March 1, 2017.

AAE proudly announces the fall 2016 winners as follows:

  • Anita Collins– Dallas, TX
  • Carmen Campbell – Omaha, NE
  • Chelise Popoca – Salt Lake City, UT
  • Gina Barber – North Port, FL
  • Jadia Kirk – Waukesha, WI
  • Joanna Hasty – Racine, WI
  • LaDonna Leazer – Milwaukee, WI
  • Lacacia Francois– Tallahassee, FL
  • Lawrence Bremner, Parkland, FL
  • Lindsey Jenson – Milwaukee, WI
  • Matthew McKenzie – Los Angeles, CA
  • Nadia Reese – Decatur, GA
  • Pahk Thepchatri–  Atlanta, GA
  • Ruth Griffith – Pembroke Park, FL
  • Tim Mueller – Hartford, WI

The Association of American Educators (AAE) is the largest national, non-union, professional educator's organization, advancing the profession by offering a modern approach to teacher representation and educational advocacy, as well as promoting professionalism, collaboration and excellence without a partisan agenda. AAE members are forward-thinking professionals who are committed to student-centered reform efforts including school/teacher choice, accountability and technology. AAE has members in all 50 states and welcomes professionals from all education entities. Membership is $16.50 per month which includes $2 million professional liability insurance, employment rights coverage, professional development resources as well as a host of other benefits. Visit for further information.