Follow AAE on:

Press Release



November 6, 2013
Contact: Alexandra Freeze

Association of American Educators Foundation Announces Fall 2013 National Teacher Scholarship & Classroom Grant Winners

Alexandria, VA – The Association of American Educators Foundation (AAEF) today announced its National Scholarships and Grants award winners for the fall of 2013, with 15 teachers each receiving funding for varied educational projects and pursuits.

AAEF is committed to offering individual educators various avenues for improving their effectiveness and student outcomes. The teacher scholarships provide teachers with funding to pursue additional teacher trainings, attend workshops, or specialized conferences. The classroom grants are offered to educators to supplement the costs of student-focused projects or activities. Both awards are available to all educators, regardless of membership status.

"AAEF is inspired by the innovation and dedication these teachers have demonstrated in their applications," said AAEF Chairman Gary Beckner. "These scholarships and grants are a worthy investment in empowering educators and advancing student learning across the country."

The Association of American Educators Foundation is a non-profit charitable foundation that provides the public and public school teachers with educational information to help reform and improve the education of America's youth. The AAE Foundation's National Scholarships and Grants competition is held twice a year in the fall and spring and is not limited to AAE members. The deadline for the spring competition is March 1, 2014.

The fall 2013 scholarship and grant winners are as follows:

Grant Recipients:
Elise Correa – Crown Point, Indiana
Amy Fitzpatrick – Dewitt, Michigan
Amy Heefner – Charlotte, North Carolina
Ann Johnson – Opelika, Alabama
Neysa Leichty – Fort Wayne, Indiana
Kym Rich – Kennesaw, Georgia
Sharon Rixner – Holladay, Utah
Kimie Snapp – Springville, Utah


Scholarship Recipients:
Bernadette Connors – Valley Cottage, New York
Michelle Frilot – Scottsdale, Arizona
John Mayo – Lyons, Nebraska
Jenny Potter – Shawnee, Kansas
Marytherese Ryan – Middletown, New Jersey
Brian Smith – Knoxville, Tennessee
Cari Wilson – Talladega, Alabama

The Association of American Educators (AAE) is the largest national, non-union, professional educator's organization, advancing the profession by offering a modern approach to teacher representation and educational advocacy, as well as promoting professionalism, collaboration and excellence without a partisan agenda. AAE members are forward-thinking professionals who are committed to student-centered reform efforts including school/teacher choice, accountability and technology. AAE has members in all 50 states and welcomes professionals from all education entities. Membership is $15 per month which includes $2 million professional liability insurance, employment rights coverage, professional development resources as well as a host of other benefits. Visit for further information.