Follow AAE on:

Press Release



April 23, 2014
Contact: Alexandra Freeze

Association of American Educators Foundation Announces Spring 2014 National Teacher Scholarships & Classroom Grants Winners

Alexandria, VA– The Association of American Educators Foundation (AAEF) today announced its National Scholarships and Grants Program award winners for the spring of 2014, with 16 teachers each receiving up to $500 for varied classroom projects and pursuits in their professional development.

AAEF is committed to offering individual educators various avenues for improving their effectiveness and student outcomes. The scholarships provide teachers with funding to pursue additional teacher trainings, or specialized academic conferences. The classroom grants are offered to educators to supplement the costs of student-focused projects or activities. Both awards are available to all educators.

The Association of American Educators Foundation is the non-profit charitable arm of the Association of American Educators, a non-union professional organization for teachers across the country.


The AAE Foundation's National Scholarships and Grants competition is held twice a year in the fall and spring and is open to all educators. The deadline for the fall competition is October 1, 2014. For more information about AAEF or the Association of American Educators, visit


The spring 2014 scholarship and grant winners are as follows:


Teacher Scholarship recipients:

Melinda Carpenter - American Fork, Utah

Erica Macke - Avon, Indiana Emily Masengale - Indianapolis, Indiana

Elizabeth Matthews - West Valley City, Utah

Classroom Grant Recipients

David Auerbach - Canaan, New Hampshire

Doreen Bourque - Charlotte, North Carolina

Cora Collier - Indianapolis, Indiana

Christine Danger - Tampa, Florida

Brittney Delariva - Highland, Indiana

Denis Kogan - Brooklyn, New York

Nathan Kurisu - Arleta, California

Jodi Murphy - Traverse City, Michigan

KellyAnn Romanych - Monterey Park, California

Miriam Leisman Rubin - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Kimberly Sather - Clio, Michigan

Alison Weingarden - Battle Creek, Michigan