Follow AAE on:

Press Release



November 21, 2012
Contact: Alexandra Schroeck

Association of American Educators Foundation Announces Fall 2012 National Teacher Scholarship & Classroom Grant Winners

Alexandria, VA– The Association of American Educators Foundation (AAEF) today announced its National Scholarship and Grant award winners for the fall of 2012, with 13 teachers each receiving up to $500 for varied educational projects and pursuits.

AAEF is committed to offering individual educators various avenues for improving their effectiveness and developing their careers. The teacher scholarships provide teachers with funding to pursue additional teacher training, attend graduate school, or specialized conferences. The classroom grants are offered to educators to supplement the costs of student-focused projects or activities. Both awards are available to all educators.

"AAEF continues to be inspired by the innovation and dedication these teachers have demonstrated in their applications," said AAEF Chairman Gary Beckner. "We've received a record number of submissions this cycle and we are thrilled to be investing in empowering educators and helping students across the country."

The Association of American Educators Foundation is a non-profit charitable foundation that provides the public and public school teachers with educational information to help reform and improve the education of America's youth. The AAE Foundation's National Scholarships and Grants competition is held twice a year in the fall and spring and is not limited to AAE members. The deadline for the spring competition is March 1, 2013.

For more information about AAEF or the Association of American Educators, visit

The fall 2012 scholarship and grant winners are as follows:

Teacher Scholarship recipients:

Maureen Barrett– New Jersey

Keri Beck– Wisconsin

Classroom Grant recipients:


Melinda Carpenter– Utah
Wendy Jensen– Utah
Ryan Johnson– Minnesota
Catherine Kaufman– Utah
Rebekah Kienenberger– Arizona
Lisa Lanza– Oregon
Sandra Makielski– Rhode Island
BJ McChesney– Florida
Melissa Page– Pennsylvania
Rikki Thompson– Indiana
Shelby Thomson– Wisconsin

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE Andrew Arndt— Freemont, IN